New Music Friday: Lorde, Ty Dolla $ign and dvsn, Phyzikal Da King, Trippie Redd

This week there were highly anticipated album releases from a variety of genres, including new albums from Lorde, Ty Dolla $ign and dvsn, Phyzikal Da King, Angel Olsen, Trippie Redd, and Kool and the Gang. 

Lorde releases her long-awaited third album, Solar Power today. The album features songs released over the past couple of months including “Solar Power,” “Stoned at the Nail Salon,” and “Mood Ring.” When describing Solar Power, Lorde said “The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt at immortalizing the deep, transcendent feelings I have when I’m outdoors.” Lorde will be going on a world tour to support the new album, starting in April of 2022. 

Young Thug continues his dominance in Hip Hop with another hit single “Tick Tock”. The Atlanta native dropped a video for the song and we’re all excited to see how Thugger follows up the success of his 2019 critically acclaimed album So Much Fun. “Tick Tock” seemingly is the first single off his upcoming project Punk.

Trippie Redd dropped his highly anticipated album Trip At Knight. The project features 17 tracks and includes guest appearances by Lil Uzi Vert, Playboi Carti, Juice Wrld, XXXTentacion, Polo G, Lil Durk & others. Trippie dropped a trailer for the album a day prior to the release.

R&B artists Ty Dolla $ign and dvsn collaborated on a new album which was released today called Cheers to the Best Memories. The first song off of the album, “I Believed It” featuring Mac Miller was released last month. Shortly after that song’s release, the duo announced Cheers to the Best Memories. Memories,” another song off of the album, was released earlier this week.

Phyzikal Da King has had his fair share of wins and losses, and today returns with a powerful single, featuring the Trill OG Bun B, “Hands On Da Grain.”  Produced by 3x Grammy-nominated producer Terrell Sass, and background vocals are handled by Kanye Sunday Service singer/songwriter Kari Epps.

Angel Olsen releases her new EP, Aisles today, which is comprised of covers of iconic songs from the 1980s. On the EP, Olsen covers Laura Branigan’s “Gloria,” Men at Work’s “Safety Dance,” and more. Olsen described the EP saying “I know it’s not really in my history to do something unintentional or just for the hell of it, but my connection to these songs is pretty straightforward, I just wanted to have a little fun and be a little more spontaneous, and I think I needed to remember that I could!”

Kool and the Gang released a new album today called Perfect Union. This release marks the band’s first new album with all-new material since their 2007 album Still Kool. 10 songs are included on Perfect Union, which includes the recently released track “Pursuit of Happiness” which came with a fun animated music video. The album cover for Perfect Union shows a tree made up of handprints. 

| Hip Hop | Pop | R&B | Latin | Dance | Country | Rock | Afrobeats |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *